Table of Contents
- What is pet-related damage?
- How do I determine pet-related damages
- What is a pet deposit?
- What are pet fees?
- What is pet rent?
- Can I combine any of these payments or fees
- Can I charge for service and emotional support animals?
- Can I restrict certain breeds from inhabiting my rental?
- Add a pet section to the Residential Lease Agreement
- Quick tips for landlords who allow pets
- Allowing pets benefits landlords and tenants
What is pet-related damage?
- Torn curtains and broken blinds
- Broken furniture or appliances
- Damaged doorframes and trim
- Scratches on the floors or walls
- Holes in the lawns and garden
- Stains from urine or feces
- Holes in the walls
- Flea infestations
- Water damage
All pet-related damages should be documented in a Residential Rental Inspection Report.
How do I determine pet-related damages
Check for stains
Look for bitemarks, scratches, and holes
Look for signs of water damage and mold
Notice any signs of flea infestation
Check for holes in the lawn or garden
Take photos of any damages that you find
What is a pet deposit?
How much is a pet deposit?
What are pet fees?
How much are pet fees?
What is pet rent?
How much is pet rent?
Can I combine any of these payments or fees
- California , as long as it doesn’t surpass two months’ rent total for unfurnished properties or three months’ rent for furnished properties. Note that Los Angeles and San Francisco both have rent stabilization and control programs in place, so you must adhere to these policies first.
- Colorado , as long as it doesn’t surpass $300 for pet deposits. You are also limited to $35 a month in pet rent or 1.5% of the tenant's rent.
- Florida landlords can charge pet fees, and the state doesn’t place a cap on pet deposits.
- Georgia landlords can charge a pet deposit, pet fees, and rent. Pet deposits in Georgia are around $200 and can be used with a monthly pet rent of about $20 to $60 a month and a non-refundable pet fee of $300.
- Illinois allows pet deposits and does not limit the amount landlords can charge for pet fees.
- Texas landlords can accept pet deposits and fees, though lawmakers have proposed limiting how much landlords can charge for each.
Check local and state laws before implementing pet deposits, fees, or rent.
Can I charge for service and emotional support animals?
Can I restrict certain breeds from inhabiting my rental?
- The types of pets allowed
- The animal’s size
- The number of pets allowed per unit
Add a pet section to the Residential Lease Agreement
- Add a date for returning the deposit
- Describe pets that you permit
- Allow pets on the property
- Charge a pet deposit
- Charge a pet fee
Quick tips for landlords who allow pets
A Lease Amendment form allows you to modify or change the current terms of a lease without having to create a new one.