- Average property tax rate: 0.49%
- Tenants have 3 days to pay unpaid rent before eviction
- Security deposit limit: None (for most property types)
- Security deposit must be returned within 1 month or 60 days
- Notice to enter for non-emergencies: No statutory guidance
With a low property tax rate and laws that protect landlord interests, there is no doubt that Colorado is a state that favors landlords.
There are no state-wide laws that require landlords to have a rental license, but some Colorado cities have their own municipal requirements. For example, the city of Denver recently passed legislation
that requires landlords to obtain a license for their residential rental properties before January 1, 2023. Landlords should always check for any local legislation that requires them to obtain a license.
In 2021, Colorado passed a new law
that limits the frequency in which landlords can increase rent. Landlords can only increase rent once per year. However, Colorado law does not limit the size of the increase or the amount that landlords can initially charge.
Landlords value their right to receive on-time rent. In Colorado, landlords only have to give tenants three days’ notice to pay overdue rent before they can begin the eviction process. The same goes for other lease violations: a tenant has three days after they receive notice to remedy the issue before their landlord can initiate an eviction.
When it comes to security deposits, Colorado’s laws definitely favor landlords. Currently, Colorado only limits security deposits for mobile home rentals to one or two months’ rent. For other types of rental properties, such as houses or apartment units, there is no legal limit for security deposits. Also, landlords have one month after a lease ends to return the tenant’s security deposit. Landlords can even extend this period to 60 days if they document it properly in the lease. This timeframe gives landlords time to thoroughly inspect their rental property for tenant-caused damage.